The chances of anything coming from Mars (you know the rest)

21 Nov

Something is stirring on Mars.

NASA’s Curiosity rover, in situ since the start of August, has apparently disturbed something previously unknown.

The onboard suite of detection and analysis instruments, called Sample Analysis at Mars – SAM – whilst investigating soil samples, is reported to have made a discovery of such significance, it’s got scientists at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena very excited. Few, perhaps, more so than the rover mission’s principal investigator John Grotzinger, who described the discovery as “one for the history books”…

So what could it be?

Teasingly, frustratingly, NASA are remaining tight-lipped for at least the next few weeks. However, the fact that this announcement has been made in advance is a good sign that they are pretty damn confident about whatever it does turn out to be.

I can’t help noticing, though, that this is cutting very close to the Mayan end of the world™ thing that’s coming up.

Space science. It’s not rocket surgery.

7 Responses to “The chances of anything coming from Mars (you know the rest)”

  1. Zara Thustra November 21, 2012 at 02:21 #

    It’s been re-branded, S, and is now EOW®

    • keplersdream November 21, 2012 at 06:06 #

      Courtesy of Maya PLC, I suppose? 🙂

      How are you anyway, me old mate?

      • Zara Thustra November 21, 2012 at 16:24 #

        No, its MayaCorp (Cayman Islands) Ltd, for tax purposes.

        I am the same as I ever was, apart from being slightly older than before. I don’t know if that is also happening to other people. What I really object to is paying for a perfectly good calendar in January, then having to throw it away 11 months later because it has stopped working. They should put a “Best before” date on products like that.

        • keplersdream November 21, 2012 at 21:43 #

          I know just what you mean. Whatever happened to those old rechargeable calendars that were all the rage in my mind?

          • Zara Thustra November 22, 2012 at 03:55 #

            If you save every calendar for 28 years, they can all be re-used. I wish that weren’t true, but there, I’ve said it now, so there’s no taking it back.

            Drop me a line on FB to tell me how you are getting on, when you get a moment.

            My B&I RA were talking at the weekend about workplace/consultancy cliches and we were struggling to find the exact three that could fit unnoticed into a single sentence. I said “We might need help with this”, to which she replied: “Stimbo?”. Obvious, really. I still have a transcript of your earlier work.

          • keplersdream November 22, 2012 at 04:12 #

            You’ve done it now; once the calendar manufacturers get to hear of that, there’s no telling what they’ll do to stop the secret getting out.

            I remember that cliché game now you mention it – it seems like only yesterday, doesn’t it? A lot of cows have come home to roost under the bridge since then. I’m truly honoured that you preserved it.

  2. 1mercian November 29, 2012 at 11:44 #

    Let us not get ahead of ourselves. Try not to leap that bridge before burning our birds in the bush.

Leave a Reply

